Getting Here – Kuranda Scenic Railway

The original Kuranda Scenic Railway is a spectacular journey comprising unsurpassed views of dense rainforest, steep ravines and picturesque waterfalls. This famous railway winds its way on a journey of approximately 1 hour 45 minutes from Cairns to Kuranda, the village in the rainforest.

The Cairns-Kuranda Railway was constructed between 1882 and 1891 and even today is considered an engineering feat of tremendous magnitude. Hundreds of men were employed to build the 15 hand-made tunnels and 37 bridges that stand as a monument to the pioneers of tropical North Queensland who lost their lives while working on the railway.

Rising from sea level to 328m, the journey to Kuranda passes through World Heritage protected tropical rainforest, past spectacular waterfalls and into the awesome Barron Gorge. Upon reaching the village of Kuranda a rich assortment of interesting attractions and unique shopping experiences awaits you.

The Kuranda Scenic Railway can be joined at Cairns Railway Station or Freshwater Connection for morning departures to Kuranda. Journeys from Kuranda Station to Cairns run in the afternoon. The journey includes an English commentary and all passengers receive a souvenir Z-card portraying the history of the railway’s construction and a map of Kuranda and the journey.

Kuranda Scenic Railway Timetable

  • Departs daily from Cairns Station to Kuranda: 8.30am & 9.30am
  • Departs daily from Freshwater Station to Kuranda: 8.50am & 9.50am
  • Departs daily from Kuranda Station to Cairns and Freshwater: 2.00pm & 3.30pm

For more information visit the Kuranda Scenic Railway Homepage.

All Kuranda Scenic Railway services are cancelled on the following dates due to planned maintenance on the Kuranda Range:

Thu 10 May and Fri 11 May 2018

Thu 24 May and Fri 25 May 2018

Thu 31 May and Fri 1 June 2018

Thu 14 June and Fri 15 June 2018

Mon 15 October and Tue 16 October 2018

Thu 8 November and Fri 9 November 2018

Thu 6 December and Fri 7 December 2018


© 2018 Kuranda Tourism | Site Map | Disclaimer

Website Created By RJ New Designs